Okuma Magda Pro Line Counter Levelwind Trolling Reel Review

Hey guys, welcome back to Beach and Fishing and my Okuma Magda Pro Line Counter Levelwind trolling reel review. Now, as you are probably aware, fishing is one of those past times that holds two essential truths:

  1. There are a great number of variations of every piece of equipment, tackle and accessory that you could be looking for.
  2. Everybody has an opinion on which of these variations is best at any given time – which is generally due to the fact that that particular item has helped them catch fish.

So with that in mind, one thing I have tried to do on this site is review the products I use, as well as the ones that are popular at the moment to give you an idea of what may work for you as you head out to the water and chase the big ones.

Hence, for this review, I will run you through:

  • What the product is
  • How it works
  • What I bought if for
  • Pros and Cons
  • Cost
  • My recommendations

What is a trolling reel?

As the name probably suggests, trolling reels enable you to catch deep-sea fish from a moving vessel via a fast moving lure or live bait (usually a live baitfish). They are similar to baitcasting reels in that they are installed on top of the rod and differ from general deep sea spinning reels as they are usually able to hold significantly more line on the spool.

A good deep sea trolling reel must be tough enough to withstand exposure to the elements and the power of larger, fast running catches. It should also have a smooth, dependable drag that can wear down a hard-fighting fish’s resistance.

Okuma Magda Pro Line Counter Levelwind Trolling Reel Review - man with trolling reel

What is the Okuma Magda Pro Line Counter Levelwind Trolling Reel

The Okuma Magda Pro is a trolling reel that has been designed for deep sea saltwater trolling and jigging. In full disclosure, I do not actually own one of these however have got the chance to try one out recently on some deep sea fishing adventures.

In short, I found it to be easy to use, loved the line counter reels and found it to be reliable when needed. I will elaborate more on this below however for now, let’s look at the features of this reel which include:

  • A loud clicker
  • Stainless steel level wind
  • Smooth multi-disk carbonite drag system operated by a star lever.
  • Two ball bearings, a self-lubricating gear system, and corrosion-resistant graphite spools.
  • Stainless steel build with side plate rings that have been reinforced. 
  • Mechanical line counter function that measures feet with a rubber push-button reset feature.
Okuma Magda Pro Line Counter Levelwind Trolling Reel, Small, Black/Silver, MA-45DX
$57.66
Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
03/22/2023 08:27 am GMT

What do you get?

BrandOkuma
ModelMagno Pro Line Counter Reel
PriceSee price at Amazon.
Color (s)Black and Silver
Dimensions6.81 x 4.45 x 3.86 inches
Weight1.05 pounds
Build materialStainless steel
Gear Ratio5.1:1
Bearings2 stainless steel ball
Line retrieve (cm)58.4
Max drag force (kg)6
Mono line capacity (Diameter in mm)0.35/220, 0.40/170, 0.45/120
Other features:
  • 16-point anti-reverse for improved hookups
  • Line counter screw port for improved air access
  • Durable machine cut brass gearing
  • Self-Lubricating Gear System, all models
  • 20 – 45 sizes with Ergo grip handle knob design
  • 15-size features a twin paddle handle configuration
  • Automatic trip spool engaging mechanism
  • Stainless steel levelwind line guide system

Features

  • Bait clicker  
  • Smooth line release switch
  • Incredible maximum drag
  • Braid-ready spools
  • Self-lubricating system
  • Ergonomic handle

Drawbacks

  • Plastic screws in build
  • The line release can get stuck at times

How much is it?

I have seen these priced online at anywhere between $USD46 to $USD70 depending on size.

What models are available for the Okuma Magda Pro Line?

Okuma releases several reliable models for its Magda Pro family. Refer to the table below for these models:

ModelGear ratioBearingsWeight (g)Line retrieve(cm)Max drag force(kg)Mono line capacity 

 

(Diameter In mm.)

 MAGDA PRO REELS
MA-15DXT-T5.1:1235758.460.35/220, 0.40/170, 0.45/120
MA-20DXT5.1:1236658.460.35/270, 0.40/210, 0.45/150
MA-30DXT4.0:1245761.070.40/420, 0.45/320, 0.50/260
MA-45DXT4.0:1249366.080.45/450, 0.50/360, 0.55/300
MA-20DLXT*5.1:1236658.460.35/270, 0.40/210, 0.45/150
MA-30DLXT*4.0:1245761.070.40/420, 0.45/320, 0.50/260
 MAGDA PRO METER LINE COUNTER REEL
MA-20DXT(M)5.1:1236658.460.35/270, 0.40/210, 0.45/150
 MAGDA DT REELS
MA-15DT-T5.1:1036558.460.35/220, 0.40/170, 0.45/130
MA-20DT5.1:1037058.460.35/270, 0.40/210, 0.45/150
MA-30DT4.0:1046061.070.40/420, 0.45/320, 0.50/260
MA-15DLT*5.1:103656260.35/220, 0.40/170, 0.45/130
MA-20DLT*5.1:1037058.460.35/270, 0.40/210, 0.45/150
MA-30DLT*4.0:104506470.40/420, 0.45/320, 0.50/260

FAQ

Which is better to buy? The Magda Line Pro 20DX-T or 30DX-T?

The reel’s model type will depend on the application, line size, and quantity required. If you’re fishing style calls for heavier lines or longer lengths of line, you should use the 30DX because it can hold more lines and heavier lines. 

Does the Okuma Magda Pro Line come with left-handed models?

Yes, this reel does have models for those left handed legends amongst us. If you refer to the table above, those marked with * are all left-handed models.

Do I recommend it?

I used this reel in a deep sea situation where were trolling with live baits chasing large and fast surface species and, to be honest, although it is definitely not as smooth as some higher end reels, I never felt like I couldn’t fight and control the catch with this reel.

I didn’t get the chance to have a play with a lure however I did like the sensitivity I felt on the line when the live bait gave a little ‘jump’.

The lever drag took me a little getting used to but loved the way I could control the run of the fish once I got it going.

So, in case you were wondering, this one is a yes from me!

Conclusion

So there you have it, my honest review and appraisal of the Okuma Magda Pro Line Counter Levelwind trolling reel . I hope it has been of assistance but as usual, if you have any questions please do not hesitate to reach out by commenting below. I would also love to hear of your own experiences with it as well.

Are there any other products you have been looking at but want to know more about? If so, please comment below and I will do my best to get some details for you.

Until next time

Have fun

Paul

Get 10% Off Online, Pick Up In Store or Ship to Store Purchases @ Bass Pro Shops - Use Code STOREPICKUP

Beachandfishing.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Leave a Comment

Hi, I'm Paul

I am a passionate fishing, camping and four wheeled driving hobbyist who researches, tests and educates around issues and equipment relevant to them.

I am by no means a professional however my passion is to assist you in making informed decisions about buying and using awesome gear that will give you the best chance of success at whatever you are doing for the best price.

Please get in touch if you have any questions.

Paul